Economic Recovery and Reinvestment

Enhancing Education Through Technology (EETT)

Program Description: The EETT is Title II Part D of the No Child Left Behind Act. The primary goal of the EETT program is to improve student academic achievement through the use of technology in elementary and secondary schools. It is also designed to assist every student -- regardless of race, ethnicity, income, geographical location, or disability -- in becoming technologically literate by the end of eighth grade, and to encourage the effective integration of technology resources and systems with professional development and curriculum development to promote research-based instructional methods that can be widely replicated.

Under the EETT program, the U.S. Department of Education (USDE) provides grants to state educational agencies (SEAs) on the basis of their proportionate share of funding under Part A of Title I. SEAs may retain up to 5 percent of their allocations for state-level activities. In Wisconsin, 50% of the remainder is allocated to school districts by a formula that is specified in the legislation. The other 50% is allocated by a competitive process.

Title IID ARRA formula grant money is currently available to Title I LEAs in the ESEA consolidated application.

Funding: Based on the state funding tables on the USDE web page, Wisconsin's allocation is $9,170,493 in ARRA funding for EETT. The formula allocations ($4,344,532) for Wisconsin school districts have been calculated and are available at /files/esea/xls/arra_iid_2009-10.xls. An equal amount($4,344,532) will be awarded via a competitive application.

Application process: Formula Grants are available only to LEAs (school districts) that receive funds under Part A of Title I or to other LEAs that apply as part of a consortium with LEAs that receive funds under Part A of Title I. (see (p. 5). LEAs will access these funds using the ESEA Consolidated Application.

Timeline: The competitive EETT ARRA grant process has been completed, as has the EETT grant cycle (non-ARRA) begun in February, 2010.

State Contact: Stephen Sanders, (608) 266-3856,

Federal Contact: Jenelle Leonard, (202) 401-3641,